Being self-taught vs. academic study - which one is best and why?

Entelechy

Stadivm Owner
Staff member
Reaction score
I studied computer science academically and think upped by programming game a lot by being surrounded by it every day and getting to try so many different languages and frameworks, but I also agree with self-taught developers saying that they've been able to get a lot of practical experience without needing college. What do you think??

letschat6

Associate Member
Reaction score
I personally tried to learn code on my own and got way too overwhelmed. That's not to say nobody is capable of self-learning. In my particular case, however, the structure of college is what I need.

Entelechy

Stadivm Owner
Staff member
Reaction score
Yeah self-learning coding is tough because of there being such an information overload without someone giving you a plan of attack! I found exactly the same thing with math - If I had've tried to learn calc and algebra without uni I would have been totally lost.

letschat6

Associate Member
Reaction score
Yeah self-learning coding is tough because of there being such an information overload without someone giving you a plan of attack! I found exactly the same thing with math - If I had've tried to learn calc and algebra without uni I would have been totally lost.
I'm currently taking a calculus class and I agree with you there! I'm barely grasping it as it is 😂

Reactions: lucky_bobo

IGMontero

Neophyte
Reaction score
I totally agree with this! Nowadays is very, very easy to get burned out pretty quickly due to the information overload.

I personally learned to code by following courses and using sites like freecodecamp.org.
Got some practical experience by trying to build stuff and complete challenges that this site proposed, and after ~4 months, I managed to land a job as a web developer. Learned a lot there also, and after other 4 months, went to full-time freelancing.